Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Trevor Robbins | 'Criminal Mischief' | CD Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Mon, 04/30/2012 - 12:06 pm

Trevor Robbins’ solo project, Lowlander, is a Folk infused singer/song writer’s safe haven.  In his self-released album “Criminal Mischief”, Robbins’ soft howl steals away like a reverb wind into the western hillside. The acoustic landscape of this album has rich finger-picked textures which blend warmly with Robbins’ dusty, melodic voice.

Topics

Mickey Hart Band | 'Mysterium Tremendum' | New CD Review

Submitted by Dave Papuga on Sat, 04/28/2012 - 9:05 pm

Mysterium Tremendum, the latest release from the Mickey Hart Band, has the former Grateful Dead drummer digging yet deeper into his ever-expanding knowledge and love of sound for another fine record. Hart’s merry band of musicians plays along to sound waves transformed from electromagnetic radiation given off by the sun, planets, stars and galaxies.

Reed Foehl | Swallow Hill | Denver, CO | 4/13/12 | Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Mon, 04/23/2012 - 3:45 pm

Baptized in Folk tradition and based in Colorado since 1989, Reed Foehl (pronounced Faille) has a soulful voice with a body of work that offers communion to a Folk congregation whose apostles have names like Guthrie and Dylan.This April 13th, Reed Foehl debuted his forth-coming album, Color Me In, at Swallow Hill

The Motet Brings Back the 'Funk is Dead' to Boulder

Submitted by Kelly Tasker on Sun, 04/22/2012 - 12:12 pm

It was all Scarlet Begonias, a touch of the blues, and a whole lot of funk and soul last night at the Boulder Theater. The Motet was back in town for an encore performance of their "Funk is Dead Show." They were in Boulder for the Halloween show last October and it just wasn't enough to last us another full year.

RJD2 | Paradise Rock Club - Boston, MA | April 8, 2012

Submitted by John Mosley on Tue, 04/17/2012 - 9:43 am

Heading to The Paradise, I’d never seen RJD2 live. No, like many of my fellows, my experience with the artist had been restricted to lone headphone listens of his dusty-funk compilations. And, to be honest, I thought that was good enough. Foolish me.Fresh Produce opened the night up with a solid introductory set, blending club standards and old school discotheque relics into an increasingly energetic mix.

Topics

Secret Chimp Swings into the Spotlight at SF's Connecticut Yankee

Submitted by Henry Hauser on Sun, 04/15/2012 - 5:20 am

Seeking refuge from a brisk and windy San Francisco evening, hirsute hippies and mustachioed hipsters file into the Connecticut Yankee for a special performance by jam band collective Secret Chimp.  Ironically enough, the Connecticut Yankee, which has undergone a plethora of name changes and facelifts since it first opened in 1907 as “Hilda’s Saloon,” is in fact a loyal municipality of Red Sox Nation. Go figure!

Topics

Archived news