Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Reed Foehl | Swallow Hill | Denver, CO | 4/13/12 | Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Mon, 04/23/2012 - 3:45 pm

Baptized in Folk tradition and based in Colorado since 1989, Reed Foehl (pronounced Faille) has a soulful voice with a body of work that offers communion to a Folk congregation whose apostles have names like Guthrie and Dylan.This April 13th, Reed Foehl debuted his forth-coming album, Color Me In, at Swallow Hill

The Motet Brings Back the 'Funk is Dead' to Boulder

Submitted by Kelly Tasker on Sun, 04/22/2012 - 12:12 pm

It was all Scarlet Begonias, a touch of the blues, and a whole lot of funk and soul last night at the Boulder Theater. The Motet was back in town for an encore performance of their "Funk is Dead Show." They were in Boulder for the Halloween show last October and it just wasn't enough to last us another full year.

RJD2 | Paradise Rock Club - Boston, MA | April 8, 2012

Submitted by John Mosley on Tue, 04/17/2012 - 9:43 am

Heading to The Paradise, I’d never seen RJD2 live. No, like many of my fellows, my experience with the artist had been restricted to lone headphone listens of his dusty-funk compilations. And, to be honest, I thought that was good enough. Foolish me.Fresh Produce opened the night up with a solid introductory set, blending club standards and old school discotheque relics into an increasingly energetic mix.

Topics

Secret Chimp Swings into the Spotlight at SF's Connecticut Yankee

Submitted by Henry Hauser on Sun, 04/15/2012 - 5:20 am

Seeking refuge from a brisk and windy San Francisco evening, hirsute hippies and mustachioed hipsters file into the Connecticut Yankee for a special performance by jam band collective Secret Chimp.  Ironically enough, the Connecticut Yankee, which has undergone a plethora of name changes and facelifts since it first opened in 1907 as “Hilda’s Saloon,” is in fact a loyal municipality of Red Sox Nation. Go figure!

Topics

The Night Beats | O'brien's Pub | Allston, MA | 4/5/12 | Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Thu, 04/12/2012 - 12:28 pm

It’s good to know there are still folks out there fighting the good fight.Arriving at O'brien’s Pub in Allston a little before nine, I felt as if I’d stepped straight back into 1967 – there was a motley collection of denim, long hair and leather from corner to corner – hazy shades of southern psychedelia. First order of business once inside, I met up with some of the members of The Night Beats sitting at the bar, Narragansett tallboys in hand.

Topics

Archived news