Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Alex Winston: King Con | CD Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Mon, 04/09/2012 - 7:05 am

Alex Winston’s new LP title “King Con” came to her after spending several months in an Elvis costume while promoting the track “Velvet Elvis”.  It was through this experience Winston came to the realization that an Elvis impersonator is the ultimate con.  Winston wears one disguise very well throughout this album as she sings with a quirky innocence about corrupt preachers, regrets, and as she puts it “guts and other stuff”.  Hauntingly beautiful up-tempo melodies are intertwined with grim and somber content that gives this a

Topics

Hilltop Hoods | Fox Theatre | 3/27/12 | Review & Photos

Submitted by Andrew Weilert on Sat, 04/07/2012 - 7:45 am

For being a top billed Australian hip-hop group Hilltop Hoods sure felt at home on their premiere show at The Fox and their first ever visit to Colorado. The scene was packed with an ensemble of listeners, a diverse group of music lovers, stretching from young punks to veterans straight out of the old skool.

Rubblebucket | Lincoln Hall | Chicago, IL | 3/22/12 | Review & Pics

Submitted by June Reedy on Fri, 04/06/2012 - 9:28 am

Winter ends and the grounds warm to the seeds that bring spring time.  Sowing seeds of lyrical genius into a flower of disco colors and glowing lights is the best way I can describe the Rubblebucket Chicago show at Lincoln Hall on 3/22/2012.  Growing from the opening solo act of Kellen and Me to the coastal beach rock tunes of The Growlers into the full bloomed 8 piece

Dr. John: Locked Down | CD Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Tue, 04/03/2012 - 1:29 pm

Despite the title “Locked Down” Dr. John’s new album was released today on Nonesuch Records.  Produced by lifelong fan and Black Keys front man Dan Auerbach, this new album travels deep into the Cajun swamp and back out again.  Such reflects the life and times of Mac Rebnnack who has been putting his unique blend of funk and blues into the music world since the 60s under the alias Dr.

GWAR | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | Review & Photos

Submitted by Trevor Stewart… on Tue, 04/03/2012 - 1:00 pm

The transformation is complete. I now believe. All hail our extra-terrestrial overlords! The Marquee read "GWAR." It was dark when I arrived, when I took my place in the line of crust punks and metal heads stretching over fifty feet out from the box office. We who were not already inside were salivating in anticipation for the ritual blood bath to come.

Topics

Henry Rollins | Boulder Theater | March 27th, 2012 | Review

Submitted by Jonathan Regner on Thu, 03/29/2012 - 5:12 pm
This week the stage at the Boulder Theater was eclipsed by the looming shadow of a performer with a gigantic reputation, one who has been in the spotlight for over three decades.  Dressed in his signature black jeans and black tee, Henry Rollins took center stage, adopted a rocker-like stance, and firmly wielded his weapon of choice: the microphone.  Initially it was difficult hard to behold this lone veteran of guitar rock without a metal band backin
Topics

Archived news