Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Nick Miller & the Hustle Standard: The Brave Abraham Judah

Submitted by Ben Welp on Mon, 09/17/2012 - 11:43 am

The date and location is unknown, all that is certain is that The Brave Abraham Judah walks the Earth. This six track concept album by Nick Miller & the Hustle Standard follows the fictional Abraham Judah as his spurs spin and his brow furrows. Released on August 14, of this year and peaking at the eight spot on the itunes Blues chart, you need to hear this tale.I was sold on The Brave Abraham Judah from the start.

Topics

Hot Rize | Boulder Theater | 9/14/2012 | Review

Submitted by Daniel Neubert on Sun, 09/16/2012 - 5:42 am

It’s no secret that Boulder is a hotbed for bluegrass music. The area has spawned popular bands like Leftover Salmon and Yonder Mountain String Band, who might not be considered bluegrass in the traditional sense but certainly share an appreciation and admiration for the genre that undoubtedly influenced them.

Old 97's & Those Darlins | Boulder Theater | 9/10/12 | Review

Submitted by River Cummings on Sun, 09/16/2012 - 4:51 am

So let’s get one thing straight. I am not a 20-something hipster tapping in to live twitter feeds from garage bands in Prague. I am not an old-school rocker with high off-road mileage and a septum tattered by blow. I am, like most of my middle-aged friends, a victim of an embarrassing epidemic that’s sweeping the nation. Musical Impotence.

Finding Sugar Man

Submitted by Jason Chiu on Fri, 09/14/2012 - 11:59 am

Music history rarely has happy endings. A band can fall into a drug-induced downward spiral until they’re shadows of their former selves. Groups may rehash their first breakout album to lesser and lesser successes, eventually becoming that group that had “one good idea.” They can end prematurely from a death of a band member or a burning of bridges. Some bands may just never take off, forever forgotten in the sea of obscurity. And there’s the possibility of a combination of all of these failings.

Catch BoomBox in the Razorback State

Submitted by Michelle Miesse on Thu, 09/13/2012 - 9:33 am

Prepare your pantaloons and get ready to boogie, ladies and gentlemen – BoomBox is coming to Fayetteville, Arkansas! On September 21, 2012 you can expect to see a wonderful duo and nothing less than an enthusiastic, ready-to-dance-party crowd a George’s Majestic Lounge.From live instruments and mixed tracks to costumes, silly hats and feather boas, BoomBox is definitely a dynamic duo.

Pat Metheny Unity Group | Botanic Gardens | Review & Photos

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 3:06 pm

Whenever anybody puts the word “jazz” in front of the word “guitar”, certain universal indicators will emerge regardless of whom or what is being talked about. Generally “jazz” and “guitar” as a pairing will conjure another indicatory-laced meaning: “solo”. Inevitably, whenever somebody is playing jazz guitar, they are playing solo-oriented music. But what is the status quo of jazz anyways? Is there one? Not anymore. Too many purists, progressives, and modernists will have different ideas or definitions on what the quintessential essence of jazz is exactly.

Lotus Live at Red Rocks Amphitheater | Review & Photos

Submitted by Tim Bagnall on Sun, 09/09/2012 - 11:50 am

The last time I saw Lotus was in April 2010 at the Boulder Theater in Boulder, CO where my friend – who I treated to the show - had the unfortunate experience of a bicycle accident on his way home afterwards. I’ll never forget the phone call I received the next day when he described the accident; it still makes me laugh.

BoomBox | Boulder Theater | 9/7/12 | Review & Photos

Submitted by Sara Reifman on Sun, 09/09/2012 - 5:43 am

The electronic and instrumental duo, BoomBox, played a vibrant, sold-out show at the Boulder Theater on Friday September 7, 2012. Known for being spontaneous and eclectic, BoomBox tailors each show to the crowd, the venue, and the evening. Their music is indeed impromptu and limber, yet they still produce a polished and thoughtful sound.

Ben Sollee | Half-Made Man | New Music Review

Submitted by Sara Reifman on Sat, 09/08/2012 - 3:53 pm

On September 25th, 2012, Ben Sollee will release his fourth studio album, titled Half-Made Man.  Sollee is known for his innovative cello playing, which he skillfully uses to highlight his songs and grab your attention, and this album is no exception.  Half-Made Man consists of ten well-balanced tracks, including the single “Unfinished.”  The album’s tracks stand strongly alone, as individual pieces of music, and also operate cohesively when pieced together as an album.  Methodical in

Archived news