Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Slash ft. Myles Kennedy | Oakland, CA | 10/2/2012 | Review

Submitted by Rochelle Shipman on Thu, 10/11/2012 - 4:53 pm

The same day I saw Slash in Oakland, he tweeted “@slash: If u made the faces u make whilst playing lead guitar to people in everyday public life, they would have u committed. #fact iiii]; )'” That night he played a show at The Fox Theatre with Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators, and I saw those faces firsthand. He’s right.

The Doctor is In - the Boulder Theater, that is

Submitted by Daniel Neubert on Thu, 10/11/2012 - 8:24 am

Dr. Dog is one of those genre-defying bands whose sound is difficult to describe to someone who hasn’t heard them before. There is no other band that they can easily be compared to. It’s indie rock mixed with 60’s psychedelia, splashed with some punk and funk and soul. The result is a delicious musical cocktail, as anyone who attended their show Tuesday at the Boulder Theater can attest to.

Medeski Martin & Wood | 'Free Magic' | New Music Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Wed, 10/10/2012 - 4:15 pm

Free Magic. Isn’t that what jazz-fusion is? Using a launch pad of some familiar melody, rhythmic riff, or instrumentation, and building it forward and outward until it gets really weird. That’s what Miles Davis realized about jazz music in the late 60s, that it was the root of all American music, and with that in mind any so-called style could be integrated into the so-called genre of jazz.

Elephant Revival | 'It's Alive' | New Music Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Sat, 10/06/2012 - 3:08 pm

The Nederland, Colorado based indie acoustic quintet, Elephant Revival releases the staggeringly beautiful It’s Alive EP. This seven song collection comes with an illustrated hardcover songbook that contains lyrics from their first two albums. The complete package contains bonus digital downloads and a full color book with chord charts, notations, arrangements, and artwork by all the band members.It’s Alive is a strong showing of lyrical prowess, melodic melodies, and impressive instrumentation.

The Preservation Hall 50th Anniversary Box Set | Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Sat, 10/06/2012 - 12:24 pm

Fifty years ago Preservation Hall opened its doors in New Orleans, Louisiana with a mission to preserve, honor, and protect New Orleans Jazz. In celebration of turning a half century Preservation Hall Jazz Band is releasing: The Preservation Hall 50th Anniversary Box Set. This ear bud time capsule consists of specific tracks from recordings released between 1962 and 2010.

The Infamous Stringdusters' Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition | Review

Submitted by Ryan Neeley on Sat, 10/06/2012 - 11:34 am

All genres of music must evolve – Electronic music evolved into house music – Rhythm and blues became rock-n-roll – And now bluegrass, one of the oldest and most revered genres of Americana music, has transitioned into a new era many are calling “newgrass”.  With artists such as Yonder Mountain String Band, Leftover Salmon, Rumpke Mountain Boys and

Phish | The Palace of Auburn Hills | December 6, 1997 | Review

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Thu, 10/04/2012 - 4:47 pm

Ahhh…the fall of 1997.  It was an interesting time for America. Bill Clinton was still fresh into his second term, Steve Jobs had just returned to managing Apple after a “hiatus”, people were flocking to the theaters to watch the Titanic sink, a woman in Iowa gave birth to seven children, internet companies were booming, and I was back at college in Minnesota for junior year studying sociology and tearing up the majestic lacrosse field at St. John’s University.

Father John Misty | Independent | San Francisco, CA | 9/26/12

Submitted by Rochelle Shipman on Sat, 09/29/2012 - 6:19 pm

Trudging into the Independent on yet another cold, appropriately misty San Francisco night, I was quite honestly exhausted and wishing I was in my bed. While I had been wholly captivated by Father John Misty at Outside Lands last month...my bed was so warm. However, I made the adult decision to stay and enjoy the show. Thank God I did.

The Congress Live @ The Clementine | Harrisonburg, VA | Review

Submitted by Gina on Fri, 09/28/2012 - 9:31 am

I was beginning to worry about the health of rock and roll.  I grew up on mid-late 70s rock.  At that time rock  was the music, [along with disco,] that was really the 'pop' of the day.  A lack of Internet and MTV surely helped assist this reality.  My reality, anyway.  I lived in a number of areas as a little kid where -- regardless of demographic -- the main music blaring from one's house would be blues-rock-based.Time marches on, and music changes..

Archived news