Buddy & Julie Miller Share Bob Dylan Co-Write "Don't Make Her Cry" Today - "In The Throes" To Be Released September 22

Article Contributed by New West Records | Published on Saturday, August 5, 2023

Buddy & Julie Miller will release In The Throes on September 22 via New West Records. The 12-song set was produced by Buddy Miller and features Emmylou Harris, Regina McCrary, Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams, Gurf Morlix, and Matt Slocum of Sixpence None the Richer. In The Throes follows their 2019 acclaimed Breakdown on 20th Ave. South, which was Buddy & Julie Miller’s first album in a decade. Rolling Stone said the album “...ranks among the year’s finest,” and American Songwriter called it “...a mesmerizing listen.” Uncut Magazine called it “One of the most eagerly anticipated Americana albums of the year” while NPR Music said, “At the heart of the album are the riveting idiosyncrasies of Buddy & Julie’s partnership, and it’s a wondrous thing to be allowed back in.”
In the Throes is a deeply soulful collision of dusty country, mournful gospel, cosmic blues, and ecstatic R&B. It sounds lively and diverse, eccentric and slightly askew, thorny with desire and blame. The fearless collection came to life during an intensely creative period for Julie. She says, “I got deep into songwriting mode, and they just kept coming along.” Buddy watched with wonder and admiration as his wife filled up notebooks with lyrics and recorded voice memos with melodies. By his count she ended up with more than one hundred songs—some of them fully written, others simply fragments. Julie wrote every song on the album with the exception of “Don’t Make Her Cry,” which is a rare co-write between Bob Dylan, Regina McCrary, and Julie.
Today, SPIN shared the song with Buddy Miller offering, “‘Don't Make Her Cry' were the words Regina McCrary's father, Reverend Sam McCrary, said to Bob when they met at a Nashville show in 1978 shortly after she joined his band. Three decades later, they finally wrote lyrics to the song together in Huntsville, AL. When it came to writing the music, Bob said to Regina, 'give it to Buddy Miller.' I then passed it to Julie, who added more lyrics, moved others around, and set it to music." Featuring a sympathetic lead vocal from Buddy, “Don’t Make Her Cry” sits naturally on the album: a soft-spoken ode to perseverance and protection.


Buddy & Julie Miller previously shared the album’s title track which Holler called “a gut-punching chunk of driving alt-country.” Of the song, Buddy says, “‘In the Throes’ deals with the toll taken on a relationship when one partner is constantly gone, on the road, working and preoccupied. ‘Nuff said.” Hear “In the Throes” HERE.

Named “Artist of the Decade” by No Depression, and “Instrumentalist of the Year” multiple times by the Americana Music Association, Buddy Miller is a highly sought after producer and guitarist who has worked with Willie Nelson, Linda Ronstadt, Robert Plant, Elvis Costello, John Fogerty, Solomon Burke, Frank Black of the Pixies, Steve Earle and more. He also joined T Bone Burnett on the musical team working on the hit ABC-TV series Nashville, and following Burnett’s departure, became the show’s Executive Music Producer. Alongside Jim Lauderdale, Buddy is also the co-host of The Buddy & Jim Show on Outlaw Country, SiriusXM. Julie Miller is a critically acclaimed solo artist whose debut album was released in 1990. A brilliant songwriter, Julie’s songs have been recorded by Levon Helm, Solomon Burke, Little Jimmy Scott, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt, Miranda Lambert, Dierks Bentley, Wynonna Judd, Lee Ann Womack, Dianna Krall, and countless others. Between the two, they have a Grammy Award and several nominations, 13 Americana Music Association Awards, and scores of gold and platinum records from other artists who have cut their songs.

After over forty years of marriage, Buddy & Julie Miller have recorded only four albums as a duo, but they are always creating, always making art together. They’ve pushed hard at the boundaries of Americana music, devising their own idiosyncratic and imaginative equation of styles and genres. “Music is such a wonderful thing to have in a relationship,” Buddy says. “That’s how we met back in Austin in the mid 70s. We started playing together, and we’ve been playing together ever since. I love her writing and she tolerates my singing and playing. It’s a lot of give and take, but it’s such a joy.”
With In the Throes, their stamp is on every note, every word.

Buddy and Julie Miller’s In the Throes will be available across digital platforms, compact disc, and standard black vinyl. A limited “Seaglass Blue” color vinyl edition autographed by Buddy & Julie Miller will be available via Independent Retailers and is available for pre-order NOW via NEW WEST RECORDS.

Buddy & Julie Miller In The Throes Track Listing:

1. You’re My Thrill
2. In The Throes
3. Don’t Make Her Cry
4. Niccolo
5. I Love You
6. The Last Bridge You Will Cross
7. The Painkillers Ain’t Workin’
8. Tattooed Tear
9. I Been Around
10. I’ll Never Live It Down
11. We’re Leavin’
12. Oh Shout