GRAMMY-winning UK Duo Blue Lab Beats Release Double Single “Take Time / Guava”

Article Contributed by Missing Piece Group | Published on Saturday, March 2, 2024

Today GRAMMY-winning UK duo Blue Lab Beats released the double single “Take Time / Guava,” taken from their eagerly anticipated fourth studio album Blue Eclipse (out April 19th via Blue Note Records). “Take Time” features two of the UK’s most singular talents, Mercury nominated Kojey Radical and the sweet soul voice of Daley, while “Guava” features Kaidi, Poppy Daniels, Richie Seivwright and Camilla George. Blue Eclipse heralds an exciting new era for Blue Lab Beats, and the 12 songs reveal the depth and breadth of producer NK-OK, and multi-instrumentalist Mr DM’s musical ambition.

Listen to Blue Lab Beats “Take Time / Guava”

“Whilst working on ‘Take Time,’ we wanted to capture the essence of our song ‘Hi There’ but with a more house arrangement,” says Blue Lab Beats. “We really wanted our brother Kojey Radical on the verse and, as we knew he would, he gives the track a real nice bounce. We then asked Daley to jump on the chorus and again he absolutely kills it with his sweet, smooth melodies over the beat. Daley & Kojey on the same track is just so sooooo beautiful.”

“The energy and bounce grabbed me immediately, and I had such fun layering melodies, stacking harmonies and infusing some soul into the hook and adlibs,” says Daley. “Amazing to have Kojey on the track too, admire him so much as an artist. Looking forward to working more with my Blue Lab boys.”

Blue Lab Beats explains of the origins of “Guava”: “For many years we wanted to capture a song that has the essence of 'Pineapple' – after many attempts NK had a dream of how ‘Pineapple’ came about and every step of the creation of it, that made us look at Samba Mapangala again as ‘Pineapple’ was influenced by one of his tracks and we love the hi-life energy his music brings. Having the amazing Richie Seivwright, Camilla George, Poppy Daniels and Kaidi in the studio to record these incredible horn parts was a blessing.”

1. Never Doubt
2. Say Wow (feat. IDK, Jay Prince)  
3. Rice & Peas (feat. Kyra, Bnny Hunna, Aidan)  
4. Cherry Blossom (feat. Ben Jones & Parthenope)
5. Sky Paradise (interlude)
6. Wait A While (feat. Amber Navran, Farah Audhali)
7. Sunset In LA  
8. Nights In Tokyo (feat. Kaidi)
9. Take Time (feat. Kojey Radical & Daley)
10. Guava (feat. Poppy Daniels, Richie Seivwright, Camilla George, Kaidi)
11. Blue Eclipse (feat. Poppy Daniels)
12. Brother (feat. Natalie Lindi)