South For Winter Feat. Tom West Releases First Single, “Undertow” from the Second Half of their Sophomore Album, Of Sea and Sky

Article Contributed by Get Good PR | Published on Saturday, January 20, 2024

New Zealand-formed and Nashville-based Americana/Folk band, South For Winter, is excited to announce a new collaboration with indie-folk Australian artist, Tom West. The two co-wrote South for Winter’s new single “Undertow”, which is the fourth single released off the band’s upcoming album, Of Sea and Sky. South for Winter recorded the single, along with the rest of their sophomore album Of Sea and Sky, with multi GRAMMY-award winning producer Matt Leigh in Nashville TN.

Lead vocalist and songwriter Dani Stone shares: "Collaborating with Tom on 'Undertow' was such a cool process.  I was struggling with writer’s block on the chorus of this song, and had pretty much given up on it. I’ve always loved Tom’s melodies and poeticism in his lyrics, though. I knew he was the right person to collaborate with in order to make the song come out right. The best thing is, it came out even better than we’d hoped.”

Listen to “Undertow”

Add “Undertow”

Watch “Undertow”

"Undertow" weaves together the distinct musical styles of South For Winter and Tom West, featuring a harmonious yet anthemic blend that hits all the right “The Oh Hellos” feels. The song explores themes of resilience, love, and the ebb and flow of life. With poignant lyrics, earworm melodies, stacked harmonies and dynamic instrumentation, "Undertow" invites listeners on a journey through a sonic landscape that is both intimate and expansive.  "Undertow" serves as a captivating preview of “Sea Side”, the second half of South for Winter’s much-anticipated sophomore album, Of Sea and Sky. To hear an epic collaboration between two talented artists and songwriters, listen to “Undertow” by South for Winter featuring Tom West.

The album, Of Sea and Sky, will be split into “Side A/Sky” and “Side B/Sea” digital halves with one complete physical release. This is a concept album with complementary themes of air and water. More singles from the album will be trickled out over the course of the next year, with the entire album coming out in digital and physical formats in May 2024.

Between writing and recording, the trio has been completing tours throughout the United States, New Zealand, Canada, and Europe, with upcoming 2024 national and international album release tours to be announced shortly.

Tour Schedule:


18 Jan - Whangateau l Whangateau Hall

19 Jan - Katikati | Katikati Folk Club*

20 Jan - Waihi Beach | Secret Garden Waihi Beach*

21 Jan - Whitianga | Beat Fairy

22 Jan - Devonport | The Bunker, Devonport

2 Feb - Nelson | The Boathouse, Nelson

3 Feb - Mapua | Ruby Bay Store; Theatre, Gallery, Tearooms

4 Feb - Picton | Picton Little Theatre Incorporated

10 Feb - Christchurch | Little Andromeda

11 Feb - Diamond Harbour | Live at the Point

15 Feb - Queenstown | Waikākā Church Queenstown ^

17 Feb - Invercargill | Southland Musicians Club ^

18 Feb - Dunedin | Dunedin Folk Club ^

* with support from The Mollymawks

^ with support from Arun O'Connor Music

About South For Winter:

Trio South for Winter consists of New Zealander Nick Stone, Colorado native Dani Cichon (Stone), and Michigander Alex Stradal. Together the three multi-instrumentalists and songwriters combine elements such as cello, guitar, mandolin, suitcase stomp, and three-part harmonies into a genre-bending sound.