Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Infamous Stringdusters | Fox Theater | 2/15/2013 | Review

Submitted by Daniel Neubert on Sat, 02/16/2013 - 7:10 pm

At the second stop on their Ski Tour through Colorado, the Infamous Stringdusters used their first night at the Fox to make an extremely compelling case for the audience to return for the second show on Saturday. Seamlessly combining soaring solos with impressive stage dynamics and powerful songwriting, The Stringdusters left the capacity crowd in a sweaty, euphoric state.

Grant Farm w/ Keith Moseley | Boulder Theater | 2/8/13 | Review

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Sat, 02/16/2013 - 11:17 am

When you hear Tyler Grant’s name, you are most likely to conjure memories of the Emmitt-Nershi Band, or even more likely the acoustic guitar he flatpicked on his way to numerous awards and distinctions.

Mountain Standard Time w/ Jeff Austin | Fox Theater | Review

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Sat, 02/16/2013 - 10:12 am

Boulder County favorites Mountain Standard Time and their annual front range Mardi Grass celebration at the Fox Theatre has become something of a right of passage, and a pilgrimage for Ned Heads, Denverites, and their fan base grown from classmates and neighbors. With Boulder’s favorite venue filled with Mardi Gras beads, and a line forming down the block spotted with costumes, it was evident that word had spread. Whispers of a sell out were in the works. Crowds started forming at the bars.

Devon Allman | Turquoise | Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Thu, 02/14/2013 - 4:07 pm

Let's get it out of the way -- yes, we're talking about Gregg Allman's son. And there it is, think what you will.

Not that (Devon) Allman wants to make his career as his father’s lad. In the liner notes for his debut album, Turquoise, the artist’s folks are clearing trying to distance the kid (relatively speaking) from his old man: (Devon) grew up… surrounded by a humble life away from the rock and roll circus that was his father’s band. We get the point.

Wooden HEZ | Children's Parade | Review

Submitted by Janne Zawa on Wed, 02/13/2013 - 6:03 pm

I have to say I was extremely impressed with the opening 3 tracks "Take Them There”, “Radio Man” and the title track. They made quite the first impression with me. Each one possessed my full unadulterated attention. To be honest: I expected cheesy Singer Songwriter Pop cut from the same cloth as say a Jason Mraz or Rob Thomas. Not that there’s anything wrong with Jason Mraz or Rob Thomas, I just want to hear something new and different and something that will shake the tree a bit. Really I’m up for anything at this point. What I discovered blew me out of my chair.

All Trap Music Minimix / Compilation from AEI Media | Review

Submitted by Jason Chiu on Wed, 02/13/2013 - 3:51 pm

Like many genres of electronic music these days, trap music is a slurry of contemporary genres. Grime, dirrty south, dubstep, and a healthy dose of frenetic hi-hats have made trap music the music play in clubs. Go to any sleazy late-night bar, and interspersed with the Top 40 hits, you’ll find a healthy dose of trap music to amp up the people on the dance floor.And here we have a promo mix of trap music artists, fittingly called All Trap Music.

John Brown's Body & Euforquestra | Aggie Theatre | Review

Submitted by Matt Cook on Tue, 02/12/2013 - 3:07 pm

With the winter doldrums in full swing it’s easy to contract some severe cabin fever. We are getting ever closer to spring but the temperatures seem to say otherwise. Thankfully the Aggie Theatre was serving up a warm dose of John Brown’s Body and Euforquestra to ease our winter suffering.

Winter Bisco Inferno Takes Colorado by Storm Part 2

Submitted by Philip Emma on Tue, 02/12/2013 - 8:19 am

Everyone was excited about this show in the big arena. It was the pinnacle of the Inferno. I was most excited about the space that the 1st Bank Center provides for the fans. Most require a lot of dancing room at Disco Biscuit shows. This would allow us to dance, see the lights at a wider scope, and also mingle with everyone including those who were not able to attend the other shows.

Dr. Wippit | An Anthology of Sorts | Review

Submitted by Drew Blackwell on Mon, 02/11/2013 - 4:26 pm

Chicago based Dr. Wippit just released his latest release: An Anthology of Sorts in 2012.  An Anthology of Sorts” is one release that certainly doesn’t disappoint. This is one artist that brings to the table effective songwriting via a highly passionate musical delivery. This meshed with a one in a million Alternative Urban Rock sound and songwriting make for an effective combination. Dr. Wippit even touches on Jam Band, and Melodic Indie Pop-Rock. All songs are wonderfully simple but masterful in their overall arrangements.

Archived news