Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

The 4onthefloor | 'Spirit of Minneapolis' | New Music Review

Submitted by William Hungerford on Thu, 04/04/2013 - 2:11 pm

After listening to the beginning of The 4onthefloor's new album, Spirit of Minneapolis, I had very mixed feelings. I put these feelings aside to listen to and write about this band on a non-biased opinion. I cannot find too much information about the bands’ musicians as much as I can about their concerts, tours and origins. The band members are; Gabriel Douglas, James Gould, Mark Larson and Chris Holm.

The Magic Beans | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | 3/22/13 | Review

Submitted by Kali Basman on Wed, 04/03/2013 - 3:14 pm

The Magic Beans step on to the stage and come out swinging with Jabu Jabu’s Belly, the bouncy feel-good tune that the crowd warms up to immediately. Scott Hachey is sporting his notorious smirk and a brand spanking-new guitar, a sexy ‘Singing Mountain” acoustic built of bone and abalone down in Pinecliffe, Colorado.

Kurt Vile | Wakin On A Pretty Daze | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Tue, 04/02/2013 - 2:40 pm

Kurt Vile's fifth long player is a humble opus if there’s such a thing. His lyrics could be hopeful, could be melancholy, it’s tough to tell – the almost-eponymous opening track (substitute “Day” for Daze in the title) sums it simply, it’s hard to explain, (my love) in this daze. Vile’s vocals throughout Wakin On A Pretty Daze are soft and flatline, yet they tend to hint at a humble crispness around the edges. As warning, his melodies keep alongside his voice, slow and meandering with only the slightest deviance.

Shakedown Street with Melvin Seals | Boulder Theater | Review

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Tue, 04/02/2013 - 12:23 pm

While every state has their bevy of Grateful Dead cover bands, Colorado is proud to put Shakedown Street at the top of their list. Playing shows all over the Front Range and Rocky Mountains, they’ve built themselves into the beloved act they are today. Even Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra plays with members on occasion when jamming around Colorado.

Dark Star Orchestra | Ogden Theater | 3/30/2013 | Review/Photos

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Tue, 04/02/2013 - 5:16 am

The date was March 30th, 2013. Or was it October 9th, 1977? Either way, the city of Denver held camp to the throngs of Deadheads along Colfax. On our way into McNichols Arena, I mean The Ogden Theater; there was a buzz in the air that only a live concert can produce.

TAUK | Homunculus | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Mon, 04/01/2013 - 12:08 pm

With TAUK, it's best to ignore the foursome's wordy pandering (We really wanted this new album to be a statement... Homunculus has everything to do with how we as humans interpret ourselves and our surroundings. It acknowledges the inherent duality that exists between our mental and physical beings and to me that's where it relates to our creative process... Cool, Zhongfeng, now enough with the koans, please) and just listen to the music. Yes, these fellows are formally trained one-and-all.

Del McCoury & Sam Bush | Boulder Theater | 3/24/13 | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Wed, 03/27/2013 - 10:52 am

An unlikely collaboration between two roots music legends needed a proper introduction. Multi-instrumentalist, bandleader, and vocalist Sam Bush is second only to John Hartford the most influential player in creating the style of newgrass music. A progressive take on bluegrass that fused elements of rock, psychedelia, and reggae was developed in the late 1960s and became incredibly influential on generations of successors to come.

Archived news