Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Wooden HEZ | Children's Parade | Review

Submitted by Janne Zawa on Wed, 02/13/2013 - 6:03 pm

I have to say I was extremely impressed with the opening 3 tracks "Take Them There”, “Radio Man” and the title track. They made quite the first impression with me. Each one possessed my full unadulterated attention. To be honest: I expected cheesy Singer Songwriter Pop cut from the same cloth as say a Jason Mraz or Rob Thomas. Not that there’s anything wrong with Jason Mraz or Rob Thomas, I just want to hear something new and different and something that will shake the tree a bit. Really I’m up for anything at this point. What I discovered blew me out of my chair.

All Trap Music Minimix / Compilation from AEI Media | Review

Submitted by Jason Chiu on Wed, 02/13/2013 - 3:51 pm

Like many genres of electronic music these days, trap music is a slurry of contemporary genres. Grime, dirrty south, dubstep, and a healthy dose of frenetic hi-hats have made trap music the music play in clubs. Go to any sleazy late-night bar, and interspersed with the Top 40 hits, you’ll find a healthy dose of trap music to amp up the people on the dance floor.And here we have a promo mix of trap music artists, fittingly called All Trap Music.

John Brown's Body & Euforquestra | Aggie Theatre | Review

Submitted by Matt Cook on Tue, 02/12/2013 - 3:07 pm

With the winter doldrums in full swing it’s easy to contract some severe cabin fever. We are getting ever closer to spring but the temperatures seem to say otherwise. Thankfully the Aggie Theatre was serving up a warm dose of John Brown’s Body and Euforquestra to ease our winter suffering.

Winter Bisco Inferno Takes Colorado by Storm Part 2

Submitted by Philip Emma on Tue, 02/12/2013 - 8:19 am

Everyone was excited about this show in the big arena. It was the pinnacle of the Inferno. I was most excited about the space that the 1st Bank Center provides for the fans. Most require a lot of dancing room at Disco Biscuit shows. This would allow us to dance, see the lights at a wider scope, and also mingle with everyone including those who were not able to attend the other shows.

Dr. Wippit | An Anthology of Sorts | Review

Submitted by Drew Blackwell on Mon, 02/11/2013 - 4:26 pm

Chicago based Dr. Wippit just released his latest release: An Anthology of Sorts in 2012.  An Anthology of Sorts” is one release that certainly doesn’t disappoint. This is one artist that brings to the table effective songwriting via a highly passionate musical delivery. This meshed with a one in a million Alternative Urban Rock sound and songwriting make for an effective combination. Dr. Wippit even touches on Jam Band, and Melodic Indie Pop-Rock. All songs are wonderfully simple but masterful in their overall arrangements.

Royal Southern Brotherhood | El Jebel Shrine | 2/9/2013 | Review

Submitted by Dave Papuga on Mon, 02/11/2013 - 1:00 pm

Saturday night’s Mardi Gras Celebration in Denver featured a supergroup that epitomizes New Orleans style southern rock and roll. The Royal Southern Brotherhood, featuring Devon Allman (guit/vox), Cyril Neville (percussion/vox), Mike Zito (guit/vox), Charlie Wooten (bass) and Yonrico Scott (drums) were the perfect band to headline such an event.

Mountain Standard Time | Bluebird Theater | 2/8/2013 | Review

Submitted by Daniel Neubert on Sat, 02/09/2013 - 6:39 pm

On a brisk February night in Denver, Nederland jamgrass band Mountain Standard Time (with some help from some special guests) brought the heat to the Bluebird Theater for part of their annual Mardi Gras celebration.After a stellar opening set from the Dead Winter Carpenters, MST came out in their current lineup, which features Nick Dunbar on mandolin and vocals, Stan Sutton on guitar and v

Tame Impala | Lonerism | Review

Submitted by Jason Chiu on Thu, 02/07/2013 - 4:23 pm

For a music critic, four months after an album release isn’t a third of a year, it’s an epoch. The rule has always been to review the album as soon as it’s released, or at least in the first week or two after release if you cannot acquire a prerelease copy. Anything after that is a nostalgic trip down memory lane. But here we are. Tame Impala’s Lonerism was released on October 9th, 2012. This review is going up in February.

Winslow | Left of the Right Direction | New Music Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Wed, 02/06/2013 - 4:43 pm

Introducing Winslow, an original blend of soulful pop rock complete with underlying elements of jazz and funk that will have you laughing, crying, and moving to the beat. Hailing from Cleveland, Ohio, this inspiring 6-piece group has a rich and cultured history when it comes to studying and performing music.

Jeremy Dion | Golden Some Day | Review

Submitted by Janne Zawa on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 4:31 pm

Golden Some Day is Jeremy Dion’s latest release and has much to commend it. Admittedly, there is a whole lot of variety to these arrangements and performances. First: Dion and his impressive band delivers rock solid playing like a well oiled machine. This is testament to hundreds of hours of rehearsal time no doubt. Second: Dion himself possesses a voice and an impassioned writing style that hits the mark remarkably well within the folk-pop music arena. He has the attributes required of an effective singer/songwriter.

Archived news