Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Curumin: A Man of Many Meanings

Submitted by Ben Welp on Tue, 06/19/2012 - 11:56 am

Any good musician uses language as a series of stepping stones to pass personal expression on to the audience. It is what binds us together. So when the musician Curumin (KOO-roo-mean) performed at Denver’s Bluebird Theater this past Sunday evening, expressing himself in Portuguese, I was searching to find what binds us together.With 236 million speakers, Portuguese is the 6th most spoken language in the world, and a beautifully expressive one at that.

Shoe Groove | Ace Bar Chicago | 6/15/12 | Review & Photos

Submitted by June Reedy on Sat, 06/16/2012 - 4:06 pm

Last night as I entered the Ace Bar for Shoe Groove, I was greeted by Old Shoe’s manager Mike Kaiz.  He saw that I was burdened with my arms full of stuff and gestured to the back booth.  Reflecting back upon this, not only was this show a great summer skin showing show, but also an entire club where everyone could set their stuff together.

GrandMothers of Invention | Mother's Day | Boulder Theater

Submitted by Dave Papuga on Wed, 06/13/2012 - 10:37 am

In a music career spanning over three decades, Frank Zappa put out over 60 albums. Some call him a genius. Those who don’t simply do not understand (pardon me and my asshole opinion—but I am right). Zappa has always had top-tier musicians in his line-ups, many of which have looked at his music charts and shuddered under the pressure.

Eliot Lipp: Shark Wolf Rabbit Snake | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Tue, 06/12/2012 - 8:01 pm

For the record, I believe that Pretty Lights Music (the label) represents the future of independent electronic music, offering digital, freely available releases to the public and paying the way with goodwill and a collective reputation for putting on tight live shows.

McCauliffe Brothers Band: It's Likely | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Tue, 06/12/2012 - 7:32 pm

The McCauliffe Brothers Band’s debut full-length, It’s Likely, is, to be quite frank, a mixed bag. A self-described rock/funk/jazz/improvisation/pop act, the North Carolina band treads the line between genres with varied success throughout their first album. To be sure, some listeners will find fault with the band’s musical schizophrenia or the lack of definition in their sound. For my part, though, I enjoyed the set as a whole.

Bobby Long's Losing my Brotherhood: Dissipating Youth & Gaining Perspective

Submitted by Angela Gattuso on Tue, 06/05/2012 - 2:31 pm

There are those things they teach you in school about poetry, things like rhyme schemes and stresses and metrical feet. Things like sonnets and pastoral poetry and the epic. Regardless of all those rules and terms though, poetry can be one of the most free-form arts, allowing the writer to take on a poetic license, which is really to say that the author can do whatever he pleases.

The Devil Makes Three: Stomp and Smash | New Music Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Tue, 06/05/2012 - 8:51 am

The Devil Makes Three live release, Stomp and Smash is more than a title; it’s a review in itself. Recorded over two sold-out nights at the Mystic Theater in Petaluma, CA, these bluegrass Santa Cruzaders’ are hell bent with a raucous punk spirit. Spewing a sound about as smooth as whiskey, this trio of Pete Bernhard, Cooper McBean, and Lucia Turino are propped up by acoustic guitar, banjo, and stand-up bass.

Xavier Rudd: Spirit Bird | New Album Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Tue, 06/05/2012 - 8:38 am

On his seventh studio album, Spirit Bird, Xavier Rudd’s gritty voice rises like dust from underneath the dancing feet along an ancestral Songline. In a modern world of industrial landscapes filled with neon signs, it’s hard to “imagine if the trees could tell us where to go.” Yet, Rudd introduces listeners to Australian Aboriginal mythology with songs such as “Creating a Dream”. Dreaming is the sacred era of ancestral Totemic Spirit Beings who formed The Creation.

Archived news