Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

King of Crownsville | Waiting There for Me | Review

Submitted by Joshua Beach on Wed, 01/30/2013 - 5:15 pm

Over the years we’ve seen rock, pop, and even hard rock slowly erode into over-commercialized, corporate puppet shows providing music that is extremely sing songy, predictable, popish and highly corporate. I hereby call this new breed of music “Poser Rock” and I want to personally thank all the corporate giants for successfully transforming “Sex Drugs & Rock n’ Roll” into “Yoga, Vitamins and Nikelback” Of course millions of musical lemmings don’t know the difference and trust me when I say  not everyone is entertained. Talking to many music fans out there the response is overwhelming.

Inch of Dark | Chapter No. 1 | Review

Submitted by Markus Druery on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 5:51 pm

In this overly saturated genera/market with a plethora of artists coming out of the woodwork, armed with nothing more than a PC, Microphone, a guitar and a crappy sounding CD – it’s nice to know there are a few bands that can still rock out. These artists I speak of manage push their music out to the world and much of it do I dare say is substandard to say the least. So what do bands like Tool and Stone Temple Pilots and Korn got that 4 piece Alternative Rock band Inch of Dark don’t?

Sean Johnson | Fairy Tales for Fools | Review

Submitted by Michael Rand on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 5:30 pm

Sean Johnson is a singer/songwriter who hails from Kentucky. He has been making quite a name for himself regionally and nationally. He has received critical acclaim from many music critics thus far in his musical career and has developed a strong reputation for his impressive songwriting touch.“Fairy Tales for Fools” is his latest release and the result though far from a self-indulgent ego trip, rather a moving and elegiac artistic statement from start to finish.

Sol Driven Train | Underdog | New Music Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 4:19 pm

If you are a sucker for rich vocals, clever lyrics that will make you think and encourage you to keep your life going in a positive direction AND love a great horn section; Charleston, South Carolina’s Sol Driven Train has all that handled.  They have been recognized by the Charleston City Paper as Rock Band of the Year for 2011 and Jam Band of the Year 2012.  It is simpler to peg them as a band that will make you happy after you give them a listen. Along with the vocals, lyrics and horns on Underdog, the band offers listeners a great

The Floozies | Stuntin' | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 3:49 pm

What’s better than being a rising star in a diverse genre that seems to know no boundaries? How about having a like-minded, equally talented brother to help mastermind the operation. Just ask The Floozies, the hottest new electronic duo hailing from Lawrence, Kansas. Producer/guitarist Matt Hill and his brother, drummer Mark Hill have been combining forces to create alien-funk beats since January of 2008 and have watched their career’s blossom with the up rise of electronic music.

The Motet | Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom | 1/19/2013 | Review

Submitted by Evan Marks on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 2:09 pm

I’ve said it so many times to so many different people, “go see the Motet”. I tell my jam friends, my womp friends, and even my white rapper friends, “go see the damn Motet”.  Anybody that has ever listened to me has been completely blown away. Most people have just never had that much funk in their face before, so it’s understandable when they complain about a neck pain the next morning.

Kung Fu | Fox Theatre | 1/23/2013 | Review / Interview

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 7:11 am

One year ago, today, I saw Kung Fu for the first time at Cervantes. They opened for The Motet during their Funk is Dead Halloween reprise. Apropos to their name, Kung Fu took the stage in full black gis and, given that first visual, I really didn’t know what to expect.

Rocky Mountain Grateful Dead Revue | Boulder Theater | Review

Submitted by Evan Marks on Sun, 01/27/2013 - 6:52 am

On a mild January Friday night in Boulder, my photographer, Harvdog and I decided to skip the usual CU ragefest and check out Rocky Mountain Grateful Dead Revue performing the "Best Of Winterland" at our local Boulder Theater.

Archived news