Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Sean Johnson | Fairy Tales for Fools | Review

Submitted by Michael Rand on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 5:30 pm

Sean Johnson is a singer/songwriter who hails from Kentucky. He has been making quite a name for himself regionally and nationally. He has received critical acclaim from many music critics thus far in his musical career and has developed a strong reputation for his impressive songwriting touch.“Fairy Tales for Fools” is his latest release and the result though far from a self-indulgent ego trip, rather a moving and elegiac artistic statement from start to finish.

Sol Driven Train | Underdog | New Music Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 4:19 pm

If you are a sucker for rich vocals, clever lyrics that will make you think and encourage you to keep your life going in a positive direction AND love a great horn section; Charleston, South Carolina’s Sol Driven Train has all that handled.  They have been recognized by the Charleston City Paper as Rock Band of the Year for 2011 and Jam Band of the Year 2012.  It is simpler to peg them as a band that will make you happy after you give them a listen. Along with the vocals, lyrics and horns on Underdog, the band offers listeners a great

The Floozies | Stuntin' | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 3:49 pm

What’s better than being a rising star in a diverse genre that seems to know no boundaries? How about having a like-minded, equally talented brother to help mastermind the operation. Just ask The Floozies, the hottest new electronic duo hailing from Lawrence, Kansas. Producer/guitarist Matt Hill and his brother, drummer Mark Hill have been combining forces to create alien-funk beats since January of 2008 and have watched their career’s blossom with the up rise of electronic music.

The Motet | Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom | 1/19/2013 | Review

Submitted by Evan Marks on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 2:09 pm

I’ve said it so many times to so many different people, “go see the Motet”. I tell my jam friends, my womp friends, and even my white rapper friends, “go see the damn Motet”.  Anybody that has ever listened to me has been completely blown away. Most people have just never had that much funk in their face before, so it’s understandable when they complain about a neck pain the next morning.

Kung Fu | Fox Theatre | 1/23/2013 | Review / Interview

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Mon, 01/28/2013 - 7:11 am

One year ago, today, I saw Kung Fu for the first time at Cervantes. They opened for The Motet during their Funk is Dead Halloween reprise. Apropos to their name, Kung Fu took the stage in full black gis and, given that first visual, I really didn’t know what to expect.

Rocky Mountain Grateful Dead Revue | Boulder Theater | Review

Submitted by Evan Marks on Sun, 01/27/2013 - 6:52 am

On a mild January Friday night in Boulder, my photographer, Harvdog and I decided to skip the usual CU ragefest and check out Rocky Mountain Grateful Dead Revue performing the "Best Of Winterland" at our local Boulder Theater.

The Love Load | Three On A Match | Review

Submitted by Heather Savage on Wed, 01/23/2013 - 5:18 pm

Washington D.C. power trio, The Love Load, has released a four song e.p. entitled “Three On A Match” following their internationally acclaimed debut, “The Human Resourceful”. This second release sees the group both coalescing as a true band with Ted Watts handing over all the guitar reins to Blaine Misner ( who also produced, mixed, and recorded the record aided by assistant engineer William H.

What Would Iggy Do | Bloody Good Time | Review

Submitted by Michael Keith on Wed, 01/23/2013 - 2:33 pm

I have to say I was extremely impressed with the opening 3 tracks "Bloody Good Time”, “What Would Iggy Do” and an impressive Cat Stevens remake “Wild World”. They made quite the first impression with me. Each one possessed my full unadulterated attention. To be honest: I expected cheesy Singer Songwriter Pop cut from the same cloth as say a Jason Mraz, Muse or Rob Thomas.

Eliot Lipp @ George's Majestic Lounge | Fayetteville, AR | Review

Submitted by Michelle Miesse on Mon, 01/21/2013 - 3:07 pm

On yet another unusually warm January weeknight in Fayetteville, AR, Brooklyn-based Eliot Lipp played an energetic, upbeat show. The crowd was a bit sparse, likely due to the fact that it’s a new year (people make resolutions to save money, not go out, etc.) and the show was on a weeknight. But unlike some much larger shows, it seemed each person who bought a ticket to the show was there for the music.

Archived news